- What "Passing" Means on the CFF Exam
- Why There Is No Published Cut Score to Chase
- Two Pathways, Two Different Exams
- Domain Weights as Your Real Scoring Strategy
- Question Style, Format, and the No-Calculator Rule
- Concrete Topics That Carry the Most Points
- Registration, Fees, and the Retake Provision
- Passing the Exam Is Not the Same as Earning the Credential
- Scheduling Your Preparation Around the Weights
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CFF exam is scored pass/fail against a psychometrically established standard, not a published percentage or scaled number.
- The Global Standard exam has 175 multiple-choice questions in four hours; the Experienced Pathway exam has 60 questions in two hours.
- Information Gathering and Investigative and Fraud Risk Management are each 25% of the exam, together half the content.
- External calculators are prohibited, so you must be comfortable with quantitative reasoning without outside tools.
What "Passing" Means on the CFF Exam
If you searched for a "CFF passing score," you were probably hoping for a clean figure like 75 or 70 percent. The accurate answer is less tidy but more useful: the Certified in Financial Forensics examination, administered through the AICPA, reports results as pass or fail against a psychometrically established standard. There is no publicly stated percentage-correct threshold, and no published scaled-score number that candidates are asked to hit.
That distinction matters because it changes how you should prepare. When a credential publishes a fixed cut score, candidates tend to study toward "just enough." A psychometric standard works differently. It is set through a structured process in which subject-matter experts judge what a minimally qualified forensic accounting practitioner should be able to do, and the exam is built and statistically maintained around that judgment. Your job is not to hit a magic percentage; it is to demonstrate competence across the exam's content areas, with extra weight on the areas that carry the most questions.
For a broader sense of how demanding that standard is in practice, see our companion pieces on how hard the CFF exam is and what the data shows in the CFF pass rate analysis.
Why There Is No Published Cut Score to Chase
Professional licensing and certification exams commonly use criterion-referenced standards. Rather than grading on a curve or requiring a fixed raw percentage, the issuer determines what level of performance corresponds to competent practice, and candidates are measured against that bar. Different exam forms can contain different questions of slightly different difficulty, so the raw number of questions you need to answer correctly can vary in principle from form to form while the underlying standard stays constant.
Practically, this means three things for you:
- You cannot game a threshold. Aiming to "get 100 of 175 right" is a guess about something the issuer does not disclose.
- Breadth plus depth beats cramming. Because the standard reflects competence across the content outline, neglecting an entire area is riskier than being slightly imperfect everywhere.
- Practice scores are directional only. A mock exam percentage tells you where you are weak; it does not translate into a predicted pass or fail.
If you want a structured plan built around that reality, our CFF study guide walks through preparation sequencing in detail.
Two Pathways, Two Different Exams
The CFF credential currently has two pathways, and they use different examinations. Knowing which one applies to you tells you exactly what "passing" requires you to sit for.
| Feature | Global Standard Pathway | Experienced Pathway |
|---|---|---|
| Exam length | 175 multiple-choice questions | 60 questions |
| Time limit | Four hours | Two hours |
| Experience requirement | 1,000 forensic-accounting business hours | At least seven years and 10,000 forensic-accounting business hours |
| CPD requirement | 75 relevant hours within the preceding five years | 75 relevant hours within five years |
| Education component | Approved CFF Learning Pathway can satisfy the education requirement | Separate exam is the distinguishing feature |
| Scoring | Pass/fail against psychometric standard | Pass/fail against psychometric standard |
The Global Standard Pathway is a single examination. If you may have encountered references to an older two-part CFF exam format, that is not the current structure. The experience figures for the Experienced Pathway come from the current issuer pathway page and eligibility table; one handbook copy contains later prose with different numbers (ten years and 7,000 hours), which conflicts with the pathway page and should not be relied upon. When in doubt, confirm directly against the AICPA pathway page. Our CFF requirements guide covers eligibility in full.
One useful flexibility: candidates may pass an examination before completing the other education and experience requirements. That means the exam does not have to wait until you have accumulated every hour, which can be a smart way to bank the hardest part early.
Domain Weights as Your Real Scoring Strategy
Since there is no cut score to optimize against, the most defensible way to allocate effort is by the exam's published content weighting. The exam is organized into two official modules: Core Knowledge, Information, and Skills (55%) and Core Practice Areas (45%). Within those modules sit eight weighted content areas. These headings are exam objectives, not a prescribed study curriculum, but they tell you where the questions come from.
| Content Area | Weight |
|---|---|
| Professional Standards and Roles | 5% |
| Legal Systems, Courts, and Dispute Resolution | 5% |
| Laws, Regulations, and Guidance | 5% |
| Engagement Initiation and Planning | 5% |
| Information Gathering, Preservation of Evidence, and Analysis | 25% |
| Reporting and Communication of Findings | 10% |
| Investigative and Fraud Risk Management | 25% |
| Litigation Services Concepts, Methodologies, and Procedures | 20% |
Two areas, Information Gathering and Investigative and Fraud Risk Management, each carry 25%. Together they account for half of the exam. Add Litigation Services at 20% and three content areas represent 70% of the questions. The four 5% areas combine for 20%, and Reporting adds 10%.
Question Style, Format, and the No-Calculator Rule
The CFF exam is multiple choice. On the Global Standard Pathway you have 175 questions and four hours, which works out to a little under a minute and a half per question on average. That is a brisk pace for scenario-based items, so time management is part of passing, not just knowledge.
Expect questions framed around realistic forensic engagements rather than pure definitions: a fact pattern involving a dispute, a suspected scheme, a document set, or a reporting obligation, followed by a question about the most appropriate step, standard, method, or conclusion. The exam is testing professional judgment as much as recall.
Testing is delivered through Kryterion, which offers year-round testing at test centers and through remote proctoring. Because external calculators are prohibited, you should be comfortable doing reasonable quantitative reasoning without outside tools. In practice, forensic accounting questions that involve numbers tend to test whether you understand the method (for example, how a damages approach is structured or what an analytical comparison reveals) rather than demanding heavy arithmetic. Still, practice estimating, rounding, and checking reasonableness by hand so the no-calculator rule does not cost you time or confidence.
Concrete Topics That Carry the Most Points
Because three content areas make up the bulk of the exam, concentrate your depth there. The following are the kinds of topics a forensic accountant must be able to reason about; treat them as an orientation, not an exhaustive list of what appears on the test.
Information Gathering, Preservation of Evidence, and Analysis (25%)
This is the evidentiary backbone of the discipline. Candidates must know how to obtain, protect, and analyze information in a way that will hold up under scrutiny.
- Identifying relevant sources of financial and non-financial information
- Preserving evidence and maintaining a defensible chain of custody
- Working with electronic data and recognizing its reliability limits
- Selecting and applying analytical procedures to reach supportable findings
- Interviewing and documentation practices that protect the integrity of the record
Investigative and Fraud Risk Management (25%)
This area covers how fraud and misconduct are detected, investigated, and managed as a risk.
- Understanding how and why fraud occurs and the factors that enable it
- Fraud risk assessment and the design of preventive and detective controls
- Planning and conducting an investigation from allegation through conclusion
- Recognizing red flags and tracing the movement of funds or assets
- Coordinating with counsel, management, and other stakeholders during an inquiry
Litigation Services Concepts, Methodologies, and Procedures (20%)
Here the exam tests the intersection of accounting expertise and the dispute process.
- The role of the expert witness versus a consultant, and the independence each implies
- Approaches to quantifying economic damages and the assumptions behind them
- Valuation and financial analysis as applied to disputes
- Preparing for deposition and testimony, and responding to challenges to your opinions
Do not neglect Reporting and Communication of Findings at 10%. Candidates sometimes treat report writing as common sense, yet the exam expects you to understand what makes findings clear, supportable, and appropriately scoped, and how conclusions should be communicated to different audiences. The remaining areas, professional standards, legal systems and courts, laws and regulations, and engagement planning, are where careful reading of scenario details pays off, since they reward knowing the framework rather than improvising.
Registration, Fees, and the Retake Provision
Understanding the registration mechanics removes a lot of anxiety about what happens if the first attempt does not go your way.
- Global exam registration is publicly priced at USD $300 to $500. Membership discounts apply after login, but the public range does not specify which endpoint corresponds to which member category.
- Registration provides one year of availability to sit for the exam, and it includes one retake under the policy effective May 1, 2024.
- The initial credential application is a separate product. It lists $199 for AICPA members.
- Testing is available year-round through Kryterion, at centers or via remote proctoring.
The included retake is the single most important structural fact for someone worried about the unknown passing standard. You have a built-in second chance within the one-year availability window, so a first attempt can also serve as diagnostic information. That said, treat the retake as insurance rather than a plan; preparing to pass the first time is cheaper in time and stress. For the full financial picture, including how the exam fee interacts with application and maintenance costs, read the CFF certification cost breakdown, and for logistics see CFF exam dates and scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Because registration includes one retake within a one-year window, build your timeline so that a second attempt would still fall inside that year. Schedule your first sitting early enough that, if needed, you could re-sit without your registration lapsing.
Passing the Exam Is Not the Same as Earning the Credential
A passing result is necessary but not sufficient. The CFF credential also requires that you meet eligibility and membership conditions, and some of the wording here is easy to misread.
- AICPA membership in good standing is a credential requirement.
- An eligible CPA certificate or recognized equivalent is required. The U.S. credential FAQ expressly distinguishes a valid, unrevoked CPA certificate from an active license to practice. Some product and handbook wording says "CPA license" instead, so do not assume a broader exemption than the issuer states; check the current FAQ for your situation.
- Experience and CPD requirements (1,000 hours and 75 CPD hours for the Global Standard Pathway; seven years, 10,000 hours, and 75 CPD hours for the Experienced Pathway) must be satisfied for the credential itself.
Because you may pass the exam before finishing the other requirements, you can sequence these in whatever order suits your career. After you earn the credential, maintenance is ongoing: annual membership and credential maintenance, continued qualifying status, an annual attestation, and at least 20 relevant CPD hours each year under the 2026 handbook. Older summaries that describe a three-year cycle should not replace that current annual statement.
Whether all of this effort is worthwhile for your career is a separate question that we address in the CFF ROI analysis and the CFF salary guide.
Scheduling Your Preparation Around the Weights
Since the standard is competence across the outline, a sensible plan front-loads the heavy areas and then cycles back through the lighter ones. The timeline below is one way to map the weights to weeks; adjust the length to your own experience.
Information Gathering and Evidence
- Cover evidence preservation, chain of custody, and analytical procedures first, since this 25% area underpins everything else
- Practice scenario questions on source selection and data reliability
Investigative and Fraud Risk Management
- Study fraud theory, risk assessment, and investigation planning
- Work red-flag and fund-tracing scenarios without a calculator
Litigation Services and Reporting
- Review expert versus consultant roles and damages methodologies
- Practice evaluating whether findings and reports are supportable and clearly scoped
The Four 5% Areas
- Standards and roles, legal systems and courts, laws and regulations, and engagement planning, treated together as a 20% block
Timed Mixed Practice
- Simulate the four-hour, 175-question pace and review every miss by content area
When you reach the timed-practice stage, use a realistic question bank so you build the pacing the Global Standard exam demands. You can try our CFF practice tests to rehearse scenario-style questions, and the CFF cheat sheet is a handy final-week review of the facts most likely to trip candidates up. If you are still weighing your options, our main practice test hub lets you start with a diagnostic to see which of the eight areas needs the most attention.
Frequently Asked Questions
The AICPA reports CFF results as pass or fail against a psychometrically established standard. There is no publicly stated percentage or scaled-score cutoff, so any specific number you see quoted should be treated as unverified unless it comes directly from the issuer.
The Global Standard Pathway exam has 175 multiple-choice questions with a four-hour time limit. The Experienced Pathway uses a separate exam of 60 questions with a two-hour limit.
No. External calculators are prohibited. Prepare by practicing quantitative reasoning, estimation, and reasonableness checks by hand so that the restriction does not slow you down on exam day.
Global exam registration provides one year of availability and includes one retake under the policy effective May 1, 2024. Plan your first sitting early enough that a second attempt would still fall within that one-year window.
Information Gathering, Preservation of Evidence, and Analysis and Investigative and Fraud Risk Management are each 25% of the exam, and Litigation Services Concepts, Methodologies, and Procedures is 20%. Together those three account for 70% of the content, though the smaller areas still add up and should not be ignored.
The takeaway is simple: there is no secret number to hit, only a standard to meet. Prepare across all eight content areas, weight your depth toward the heavy ones, and use the included retake as a safety net rather than a strategy. For a wider orientation to the credential itself, start with what CFF certification is and then dive into the content-area guide to build your plan.